Our agency specializes in providing instant Illinois SR22 coverage with the lowest rates and monthly payments. When you make your down payment our insurance companies notify the Secretary of State in Springfield electronically. You will receive a copy your SR22 confirmation information and insurance ID cards immediately after your purchase.
How do I know if I need SR22?
The State of Illinois requires SR22 financial responsibility insurance before your driver’s license or vehicle plates can be reinstated if they’ve been suspended or revoked due to a violation of certain sections of the Illinois Motor Vehicle Law.
Some SR22 violations include:
- Driving without auto insurance
- Automobile accident without car insurance
- Driving a car under the influence (DUI)
- Reckless driving of a motor vehicle
- Three moving violations in a 12-month period
- Drivers license suspension or revoked drivers license
Reinstatement of License
If your driver's license is under suspension because of a motor vehicle violation, an electronic SR22 form will be filed for you with the Secretary of State. This form shows you have the mandatory auto liability insurance policy required by the Illinois Financial Responsibility Law to have your license or license plates reinstated. Once your SR22 form is accepted by the State, usually within 48 business hours, you can contact the State and pay any fees that they require.
SR22—What you need to know
- What is SR22? SR22 is actually the name of the form used by the insurance companies to notify the Secretary of State that an insured has the required insurance coverage. People will sometimes refer to this as SR22 or Financial Responsibility or FR Filing.
- Proof of financial responsibility may be submitted in the form of an SR22 certificate of insurance completed by the home office of an auto insurance company and electronically submitted to the Secretary of State before reinstatement of driving privileges or issuance of a restricted driving permit. A Secretary of State reinstatement fee may also apply.
- How it works. When you make a payment to our agency, we will submit a request for an SR22 certificate to the car insurance company. They send the SR22 certificate electronically to the Secretary of State in Springfield. You get a confirmation from the insurance company, as well as a letter from the Secretary of State upon acceptance. So check your mail.
- The SR22 Certificate may be in the form of an owner’s certificate, a non-owner/operator’s certificate, or an owner/operator’s certificate. The owner’s certificate is required if you want license plates for a vehicle you own. If you don’t own a vehicle, file the non-owner/operator’s certificate.
- Coverage required for an SR22 Certificate is the lowest amount of liability insurance required by the state. The insurance policy must conform to the provisions of each state’s vehicle code:
- Illinois Limits
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per occurrence
- Uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person /$50,000 each occurrence
- Property damage: $20,000
- How long must I maintain the SR22? This can vary by state and by severity of the offense. Illinois requires anywhere from one to three years. If your policy lapses or is canceled, your auto insurance company is required to notify the Secretary of State immediately and your license will be suspended again.
Contains information taken from Illinois Secretary of State